'Board of Inquiries' for birds?

Does anyone know if such a place exists? I’m aware of the one on faunaclassifieds.com, but the bird section doesn’t get used. For those who don’t know, a B.O.I is just a place where people can go and either recommend a breeder or dealer, or warn people to avoid them.The more I learn about the dark-side of the parrot trade, the more I want to know how to avoid it…

Yea, I really want to get some birds from a breeder because his prices are so cheap, but he lives in a bad city and my mom doesn’t want me going there to get it lol I think I’ll end up paying $50 more at a pet store, CT sucks, all the prices are so high! lolSorry for asking but you said the “dark-side” of parrot trading. I’m new to this stuff, care to explain a bit?

There’s plenty of bad stuff…parrot mills/farms where they’re kept like chickens, in tiny bare cages with nothing to do but mate. Breeders who send unweaned babies home with clueless people that burn holes in their crops. Breeders who split the lower mandible of aggressive males so they cant hurt the females. Not to mention what becomes of breeder birds when they stop producing. Babies not properly weaned, left to starve to death in the backroom of a pet store…the list of horrors goes on and on. It’s really shocking and disturbing. If you want to learn more read “Of Parrots and People” by Mira Tweti.

It is totally unacceptable! These guys treat them more like toys, then living beings. But generally, breeders look after birds very well and my breeder would never leave them to die. Our breeder loves birds so much so I am sure.

I may be old fashioned, but here I’m guessing the best route is word of mouth and actually being in contact with the breeder and/or shop owner. I think most of the big “mills” do business with large/chain pet stores.