Help me train my parrot to talk! :)

So I’ve had my precious Iago for about a year now. Almost 6/7 months to be exact actually. And according to the guy I got him from, iago was about 7 months old back then- which means he’s around a year old now. He whistles really well and does the kiss sounds really well too. But he hasn’t quite started talking. I started playing a recorded clip of m voice saying ‘hello! Hello! Pretty bird!’ Before he has dinner. But that didnt really work out because after the first few sessions he escaped his cage and climbed onto the area where he eats and started eating before I came back to feed him myself! So now I just serve him dinner and play the recording in the background. I don’t know if that’s working though.He hasn’t gotten a ring around his neck yet either, but I’m not too worried about that right now because I’ve heard it can take upto 2 years to appear. So do they start talking once their ring comes in? Or is it my teaching method that needs to be altered?Any helpful advice would really be appreciated!

Are you positive you have a male?

Not all birds will learn to talk. Its just one of those things. Gender shouldn’t really be so important unless your breeding or have multiple birds in the same cage. Although males of all speicies are more like to talk, not all do.You can create a talking environment but really there’s not too much more you can do. The bird will either talk or it won’t. I would look at it as he/she will never talk and accept that, that way if he does it’ll be a bonus

eric&rebecca is so right I knew my my whole life until he died 2 years ago he never said a word. it was fine with me as long as he was happy and healthy that’s all that mattered. the only way to guarantee a talker is to adopt an older bird that speaks. they say what they want when/if they want to.