My bird is impossible to deal with while working, what to do?

So I have a one year old pineapple conure. I love him however I am entering year 11(and doing some year 12 subjects) and most of my subjects require pen and paper working out and concentration.
So when I am studying, if I have my bird on me he acts like a hyper active toddler, which is normal and fine however I can’t do my math while he is there. He will go onto my chair where I have only just noticed he is quite literally ripping the leather apart and not only making a mess but damaging my chair and potentially eating some himself. (I don’t think so but can’t be sure). If he is not doing that then he is trying to get into my shirt and biting/clawing my skin, or worst of all attacking my precious work books, ripping out pages and working out or even the spine! However I don’t want him in his cage all day and enjoy spending time with him but I also value my school work.

So I have reached out in the hopes of some advice. Should I get one of those portable stands and keep it in my room( mother is very strict about carpet so it may be a problem with poops , food etc), Should I try make one myself? Is it even worth it as he may be a meter away from from me and will just try to fly back to me (He always does this). If you think a stand will work, does anyone have any recommendations?
Thanks