Parrot dissertation

Hey there,I’m currently studying my degree in animal management and I have to come up with some dissertation ideas. I thought since Ive got a hahns macaw I could do something with that. We also have an african grey at uni so maybe some comparision between the two…Was thinking about how easily the two birds can aquire new words or their ability to be trained. Also could compare the difference between the birds and how this could affect their learning.My hahns is 7 months old and has been at the pet shop for x months being around other birds and people a lot of the time and is often out of it’s cage. Where as I have only ever seen the Grey in its cage as people are afraid of it as it is a bit nippy.If anyone could give me some other ideas or anything related it would be much appreciated. I hope that with my new found passion for parrots i will really enjoy this work.Thanks,Chris.

WHAT?Welcome to the forum.

I would remain at a higher level. People generally don’t know that parrots have not been domesticated for a long time and that they still have wild behaviors. So you could talk about domestication of parrots and the difficulties of keeking these animals in our households, the lack of knowledge of people, which explains the high % of abandonment and so forth.Just an idea. That would also serve the purpose of educating your peers and maybe avoiding mistakes down the line.